About the Low Temperature Laboratory

Low Temperature Laboratory (LTL) of Aalto University is one of the world centers in ultralow temperature physics and nanoelectronics. The main research fields of LTL are ultra-low temperature physics (35%; started in 1965) and low temperature quantum electronics (65%; started in 1996).

LTL research infrastructure (RI) serves both local scientists and it is recognized as an important national and international access-giving service site. Our ultra-low temperature (ULTI) infra was funded by EC in FP4 and FP5 as European transnational access sites. In 2006−2008 our ULTI access program was continued in FP6 as one of only 25 European single-site RIs. In 2009−2013, the LTL coordinated a network of 12 European low temperature laboratories in a FP7 project MICROKELVIN where LTL served as one of the three transnational access-giving sites. The current collaboration is organized around the European Microkelvin Platform.

In 2008, Finland―prompted by the European ESFRI-process―made its first systematic survey of national RIs. Altogether 22 infra-sites were selected on the Finnish map of nationally important infrastructures and 20 infra-sites on the road map of nationally important future infrastructures. Low Temperature Laboratory (former CRYOHALL) was elected both to the map and to the road map.

The national RI landscape was reviewed again in 2013, to define the strategy and roadmap for RIs 2014-2020 in Finland. As a result of thorough evaluation the LTL was elected to the renewed roadmap as a part of the Otaniemi Research Infrastructure for Micro- and Nanotechnologies, focusing on competitive research in nanoscience and -technology, and in quantum technologies.


Page content by: | Last updated: 23.09.2016.